E-Mail on 11/17/14 – Wind is an Hermana’s Worst Enemy

It´s been soooo windy and cold lately!  Between the scarves, the skirts, and the hair… we show up at citas looking a little crazy.  And I’m sure we’re quite the scene on the street.  Literally the worst.  I’ll take rain and snow over wind as a missionary.  It’s fine though because I genuinely like the constant use of cardigans and tights.

I super totally lied last week when I said it was Stake Conference. It’s this weekend.  So… yeah.  Awkward.  But the really incredible thing is that Elder Cook set a time aside to meet with the missionaries in the mission.  WOAH!  So… yeah.  That’s super exciting.  Saturday, before the conference, we’ll be there with him and a bunch of the missionaries (the ones who are far will have to miss out…sadly…).  My companion is thrilled because, well, those outside of Utah don’t have the chance to see these people as often as we do.  I’m mostly excited for her at this juncture.

This locutorio smells like smoke.  It’s awful.  I can hardly concentrate.

Raul came to church this week which is incredible.  He’s a less active who I haven’t really gotten to know but lately he’s opening up and we’re making big progress with him.  HE CAME TO CHURCH!  I’ve been super excited about that.

Adrian disappeared to Italy so he lost his fecha…because he was in Italy instead of being here… to get baptized… Whatever.  He said he’d be back tomorrow so we’ll get him to the conference and he’ll get baptized and it’ll be fine.

Juana “accepted” a fecha.  She actually said the words “No voy a bautizarme este día” as she was writing her name on the calendar so I think she’s lying about not getting baptized.  She’s just afraid of commitment.  We had a really fantastic visit with her and a member who helped a ton.  Returned missionaries are the best at member visits!

The Hermanas of Sabadell moved out and then back in… still have bed bugs.  Poor dears.  But we had missed them for the 4 days that they were gone.  We’re excited that we can have them for the holidays.  It’ll make them that much better!

I just love the mission.  It’s about the greatest thing ever.  We had a slightly slow week but things are just so promising right now.  I’m stoked!  We have an incredible week ahead and we have a great ward and a great district and everything is super great!  I feel like a cheerleader… gross.  But everything is just great!  The gospel makes you happy, I can testify of that.

Read the Book of Mormon, peeps.  You should be in Alma 56.  We’re getting closer and closer!  I need to pick up the reading in Spanish so I can finish it again by my goal… but just keep reading!  I love you all!

Hermana Durham

Leave a Reply

