E-Mail from 8/5/14 – Still converting in Castellon

So I’m going to be working here in Castellón with Hermana Barker.  Hermana Barker is from California.  She came in my group actually!  I totally knew and loved her in the MTC so we’re going to be good buddies here.

Actually, right now I’m in Tarragona.  Interesting story behind this: So Hermana Masters is going to Sabadell to be with Hermana Ward and Hermana Tuttle.  Crazy, right?  My trainer.  Hermana Tuttle is leaving mid transfer, that’s why.  Elder Burnett is going to be District Leader in Barcelona 3 and well… well yeah that’s great too!  Now we figured that those two would leave and Elder Benton and I would wait for our companions to get to Castellón from Tarragona (it´s not too far).  The plan was a good one too!  BUT, the Hermana’s piso in Tarragona is STILL having problems with bed bugs so Hermana Barker actually hadn’t been in her area for the past week or so.  I get called up and told that I actually will be going to Tarragona to pick up my companion and spend the day there.  The area is getting closed.  Super sad.  So… it’s a weird, stressful day.  Lots of extra travel for me.  I did get to ride first class though on the way here.  Sweet.

Carlos said that whoever is going to be my husband would be his hero because I’m complicated.  I know I’m a difficult person but I didn’t think I was THAT bad.  But I know it’s true so I said “yeah… pobre…”.  The longer I stay here the more I realize that I AM really difficult.  Who in the world would decide to put up with me?!  Eh… we’ll cross that bridge later.

We have some really great people we are working with and I’m excited for them to meet Hna. Barker because we need her here.  We’re also re-doing the area lines this week so we’ll get even more people to work with… in theory.  I’m very excited.

Luz got a calling this Sunday.  She’s now in the Young Womens Presidency.  SUCH A CUTIE!  I literally love this woman with all my heart!  Now… we need to baptize her family.  And Juan Carlos.  And Alex.  And Jonathan.  And Gianella and Helen (still waiting on that freakin’ uncle…).  And Cathy and Toni.  It’s going to be a great 6 weeks.  I can tell.

Quote that I just love and I have it written everywhere: Obedience is a choice.  It is a choice between our own limited knowledge and power and God’s unlimited wisdom and omnipotence.  -L Tom Perry

Talking with Alex about our rules made me realize that I love being obedient.  I love the rules.  I like to be home on time.  I like to get up at 7:30.  I like that I don’t have access to the internet or the news or anything.  I like to do these things even though they seem ridiculous to other people because I’m HAPPY.  I told Alex that.  This week I really came to understand and appreciate obedience.  We’re obedient because we love God.  We love him so much that we’re willing to do what He asks us and it’s okay if we don’t know why He asks certain things.  It’s important to obey.  It becomes so easy after time, so natural.  We’re happier.  God gives us commandments because He knows what will make us happy.

Well that’s about all folks.  I’m going to try to learn to love more, smile more, control my emotions more… wish me luck!  Find people to share the gospel with!

Hermana Durham

Leave a Reply

