E-Mail on 7/7/14 – “It´s a blessing but it came in a bad way.” “Oh…so like a baby.”

We have really funny conversations sometimes.  This girl (Hermana Masters) kills me, she’s so funny.  It’s nice to be able to laugh on your mission because sometimes the mission is very hard and you need people who are fun to help you stay normal.

Last Monday I got my haircut for the last time on my mission.  My hair is officially even!  WOO!  I was going to get it cut at this one place (Elder Burnett was getting is haircut and so we were just hanging around) but then after the guy asked how old I was and if I’d marry him we decided it wasn’t a good idea.  It would have been okay if the Elders could have stayed to protect us but they couldn’t so they suggested we leave.  I found a very nice place where a very nice woman cut my hair instead.  Livin’ on the edge!

Oh you can just never escape the drama.  It’s always there.  We’re having some great ward drama with people claiming that people are racist, investigators refusing to listen to anything anymore because of members… we’re just having fun here.  It’ll all be better soon, I think.  We fasted for the ward.

The new church opened up!  It’s a 35 minute walk from our piso in the blazing sun (there is almost no shade) but it’s beautiful! We had a full house on Sunday and people just love the building. It’s gorgeous.  We’re going to see how it goes this week as we all try and adjust our schedules to the extra travel time involved here.

This week we are planning on having Luz, Gianella and Helen baptized.  We’re going to just try as hard as possible for them all to have beautiful services and to be prepared and happy.  The new font helps a lot.

To celebrate the 4th of July we sent our British missionary a scripture.  1 Nephi 13:16-19.  I’m funny.  BOOM!  Scripture-ed!  Today we’re going to an American style diner to eat for lunch.  That will be how we celebrate… super fun, I know.  We’re not allowed to do fireworks.  Mission rules for the lose! (No just kidding.  I love the rules a lot.  We’re blessed with those!)

Elvis got baptized!  He’s an investigator of the Elders.  He’s been investigating for like a year or more and he just out of the blue called the Elders and said it was time for him to be baptized.  But they kept it a secret.  No one was allowed to know WHO was getting baptized.  He just wanted people to come on the fact that there would be a baptism.  Pretty cool, if you ask me!  We found out Friday night and then every one else found out at the baptism.  The best reaction was his girlfriend, Mirela.  She’s a recent convert.  When she saw him in white… wow.  Priceless!  It was a beautiful day.  I love baptisms!

At the baptism I chased another investigator of the Elders, Emilio, around the chapel to get him to sit closer.  He’s a grumpy old man and so he needs to be pushed a little.  I told President, he said it was okay.  I am a really weird missionary, I think.  I mean it WORKED so that’s good right?  He sat in the third row and then I got him to sit closer in Sacrament meeting yesterday.

So yeah… that was the week.  It’s really a long walk to the church when you’re fasting and the sun is burning you.  But otherwise it’s totally manageable.

I love you all!  Do good things!  Be good people!  Have hope and faith and charity!  MUAH!

Hermana Durham

Leave a Reply

