E-Mail on 2/24/14 – Happy 7 months!

Okay so… I’m sure you’re all wildly disappointed in the last email.  So was I.  Spent 7 hours of preparation day getting to and waiting in Barcelona for my companion.  We arrived back in Vic with about 35 minutes of preparation day left with a lesson immediately following.  Yay.

Hermana Findlay is now in Zaragoza and is a Sister Training Leader.  She freaked out.  She doesn’t feel capable of such a calling.  I know she is.  She’s incredible.  She’s the hardest worker I know, on top of being so loving and sweet.  I am really very sad that we only had a transfer together.

My new companion is Hermana Hamson.  She is from Colorado, is 23, and this is probably her last area.  She leaves in June.  She was companions with Hermana Hassett awhile back (remember her?  My MTC buddy?) so that’s fun!  So yeah, President Pace did it again.  Making me teach someone the area after only one transfer.  The nice thing is that Vic is small and so is the branch so it’s not too bad.

Hermana Findlay and I finished our week pretty strong with 36 lessons.  The goal is like 20 or 25.  Boom!  We rock.  This week wasn’t too bad considering how rough it started.  Monday, Hermana Findlay and I had 10 so that helped start us off.

We have a new branch mission leader (kinda like the Cottonwood 7th ward…).  Abel.  I’m so excited to work with a BML who can actually meet with us.  He will really help this work move along!  We also have Vanessa, Piero and Alan as new branch missionaries.  ¡Por fin!  I can see great things in the future of this branch.

I’m sure you’re all dying to know, but yes.  Kevin was baptized and confirmed.  Wow.  He’s so awesome.  He also has the Aaronic priesthood, ordained a priest on Sunday.  Not bad.  Future missionary?  I hope so.  He’s so great.  His dad and the girlfriend of his dad came to the baptism and were all cute and emotional about it.  I have such high hopes for this family!  Aside from Kevin being late and needing to be baptized 3 times, everything went well.  I always get super worked up over these things.  I was pacing.  Now Kevin is a member of this great church, he was ordained a priest, and next week he’ll get a calling.  I hope this keeps him active.  I don’t want to be baptizing menos activos.  I’m not okay with that.

I’m getting better at contacting…finally.  I still have some fear of initially approaching people but that’s going away.  Once they’re contacted, I don’t mind at all harassing them for their number, to pray in the street or whatever.  Just the initial “excuse me…”. Poco a poco.

I do love Vic.  I still have my heart in Barcelona though.  The first area love…ya know?  Penelope is still alive and happy.  Spring is coming around….slowly…but it’s coming!

7 months down as of today.  Wow.  I am looking forward to working hard this transfer.  I am far from perfect and I have a lot I need to improve.  I hope to give all that I can.  It’s a wonderful life I get to live.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  It’s not easy, but it’s the best and most rewarding.  I tell you, the smile of people who feel the spirit….worth every scowl and “no”.  So worth it.  Seeing Kevin get baptized, knowing what it meant for him, knowing how much he wanted it… worth every single hard moment.  I love what I do and I hope that the next few months go by slowly.  (They won’t…but I can still hope)

I love you all, thank you for all the love and support and everything.  I couldn’t do it without you!  Have a wonderful week!  Nos vemos!

Hermana Durham

Leave a Reply

