E-Mail on 9/23/13

Lisps, Letters, Love, and Lice

So the more I meet people, the more I realize that the Spanish theta (the Lisp) is practically useless.  No one uses it but the Spaniards and like I said before, the Spaniards aren’t the ones listening to us.  I’m torn about whether or not to actually use it… I probably won’t.  So don’t be too disappointed when I come home without it.

I got letters! I got one from Sadie Fish (with the best drawings ever), one from Grandma and one from Ethan.  Thank you for sending them to me!  It was super exciting.  So yes, I don’t receive letters, and I really love getting them.

Love.  Love is all the really gross new couples making out in public…everywhere.  Love is the really old couples who sweetly hold hands while walking down the street.  Love is the married couple who protect their newborn from the wind.  Love is sending your missionary two dozen roses from across the world.  Love is being patient that her whole mission now knows about the two dozen roses.  Love is heart break when a mother won’t allow her daughter to choose the path of Christ.  Love is washing the dishes while your investigator runs to work.  Love is the grin you get seeing that dripping wet smile on her face when she walks out of the baptismal font.  Love is making the choice to talk to people who seem disinterested because you know they need to know about love.  Love is many things, but it is the best thing we have.  It´s the greatest tool we have to change the lives of those we teach.

Lice….yeah.  That awkward moment when someone in the piso gets lice and you spend an afternoon with gross shampoo in your hair and a plastic bag on your head to make sure you’re in the clear.  It’s been a real party with the plastic bag pillows and all.

Heidi got baptized this Saturday!  I have never been so happy in my whole life.  She was beautiful.  Her testimony was beautiful.  Nardi did a wonderful job even though he didn’t know the baptismal prayer until just then.  The music was perfect.  The ward was great.  It was just a perfectly perfect day.  I wish Nikole could have participated but her mother wouldn’t let her be baptized.  How heart-breaking.  This poor girl is so prepared, she craves this light so much, it has been helping her with her depression even!  Her mother knows that!  Ugh.  That is hard.

I love this work.  It’s definitely hard, especially when companions fight, but it’s worth it.  It’s worth it to see people smile.  To be there when they start to breath a little easier.  When they look surprised that all we want for them is their happiness.  No one expects that.  No one expects that there are people out there who care about them.  It is a blessing to be able to share that.  Everyone is hurting, but everyone can help.  I get to be helped too, just by getting to wake up everyday and go out into the streets filled with God’s children.  It’s pretty awesome, you know?

Anywho, I love you all a lot.  My prayers take forever because I have so many people to be grateful for and so many people to ask blessings for.  Thank you for your love and your support.  I feel it.  I do.  Keep on keeping on!

Hermana Durham

Leave a Reply

